Quieted heart of peace

When peace, like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

It is well, with my soul,
It is well, with my soul,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

For me, be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live:
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper Thy peace to my soul.

But, Lord, ‘tis for Thee, for Thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
Oh trump of the angel! Oh voice of the Lord!
Blessèd hope, blessèd rest of my soul!

And Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be sight,
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll;
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend,
Even so, it is well with my soul.

I guess you can tell that I have been knocking around the kingdom for some time when I turn to hymn lyrics to express my heart. Horatio Spafford was said to have written this hymn on the bow of a ship as he passed over the site in the Atlantic Ocean where his wife and daughters perished. His world was turned upside down, but in the midst of his sorrow and grief he sensed the good hand of God. He was flooded with that peace that passes all understanding.

And oddly I have found again that unspeakable peace to accept changes, trials, harsh news and move forward from the news of my beloved job ending. Seldom in life are we prepared for sudden changes like deaths, or loss of income. While we can plan for such events it is only when we are faced with the reality of them that we learn what we are made of and how solid God’s character is.

I have to be honest – I liked what I did. I found it startling that consultants would have a different perspective. But I have something many of my coworkers don;t have. That is the loving kindness and mercy of my father in heaven. And my eyes turn to those many situations in the bible where life changes were harsh, startlng, difficult and unpleasant. In the midst of each situation there was a still small voice leading them on, developing their character, providing for their needs. So, why should that not be true of me.

When my eyes want to look at the situation and flood my soul with fear and anxiety it is quite odd, but the words of Horatio Spafford begin to echo in my soul “whatever my lot thou has taught me to say it is well, it is well with my soul”.

Lord, you know us better than we know ourselves. You have ordered our steps, and all you do is good. In this time of transition I will accept your will and your leading because your character is faithful and true. Be near in this time, guiding each day, and may I bring glory to your name. Today I will lean not on my own understand, but instead I will acknowlege you as I trust in you and your word tells me that you will direct my path. Amen

Leave a Reply

