January 10 – Chosen

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light.   1 Peter 2:9

ἐκλεκτός  – eklektos

This is the word we get the english word “elected” or “elect” from.  The idea is that there is a process of selecting some, setting them aside for God’s purchase.

In the passage above believers are given titles and roles in God’s big picture.  We are selected for his service.  We are set aside and sanctified as priests to worship His Great Name, and we are to be a nation that stands seperate from the scars and ravages of the ways of the world.  Yes, we a re to be treasures that he uses to call others out of the dark swirls of sin in this life… to declare his glorious gospel, and lead others to his light.

Strongs breaks the word down even more – Chosen:

chosen

 

This word is used 22 times in the New Testament, and in most cases referring to believers, christians called by the Lord to salvation.  There are passages that translate the word as “elect” or “the elect”, and in one case it is used to speak of specific angels.

Unlike gym class where two captains are picking their team from a pool of students, God has known each of us from the beginning of time, and has ordered a plan for our lives, that we might be open and willing to hear from Him, open our heart, yield our will, and obey his calling and purpose on our lives.  Free will plays a role here, meaning that as humans we can choose to ignore the calling and leading of our God, and miss the election of our lives to his service.  There is a passionate desire for our God to draw us to salvation, and to place us where His light will illuminate others.

Today I am asking myself a few questions.  Perhaps they will help you realize the full depth of the knowledge of how special you are to God.

  • What was that first moment I became aware of God drawing me out of the darkness?  Do you remember where He called you from?
  • In what ways has my life, my thoughts, my behavior, my world changed?  How is he taking me to holy places, places of purity and new levels of understanding of his love?
  • Am I thinking each moment of how my life might help or hinder the proclaiming of His great love?  Am I aware that my world is watching me, looking at my life, how i respond, what i say, how i react, and they are looking at what i am investing my life in.
  • Are my thoughts holy thoughts?  Am i spending time redeeming my mind from the influences of the world?

Prayer – Today, Lord, I remember the places you called me from – of struggle, and fear, and wrong thoughts, of anger, and of judgement, of greed and vice.  I remember the moment you shined your warming, welcoming light into my soul.  And I remember how exposed and sinful I felt at that moment.  I was and remain deeply in need of your salvation, and the work your spirit is doing to sanctify my soul.  Thank you for choosing me.  Thank you for opening my eyes to see your light, and my heart to yield to you.  Be glorified in us today, and until the end of the age.  May you shine your light on our lives, and grant us the capacity to remain holy, sanctified, priests who worship your great name.  Thank you for choosing us, and may you expand the kingdom through us.  Amen

Leave a Reply

